Crimewaves By Dave Simpson, Diane Whiteley

  • Narrated by: Jane Dawson, Colin Parry, Jonathan Perkins, full cast, Vincent Davies
  • Length: 2 hrs and 48 mins
  • Release date: 12-07-23

Crimewaves By Dave Simpson, Diane Whiteley AudioBook summary

A six-part crime drama about a group of Manchester teens fighting for justice

When their friend Keith Brandon is charged with murdering a policeman, Gemma, Liam and Andy decide to bunk off school and go to the trial. Keith had a knife, a motive and has confessed to the crime, but they’re sure he didn’t do it – so when he’s found guilty, they can’t believe it.

Determined to prove Keith’s innocence, they take their story to the local media, but no-one will take them seriously. Then Gemma comes up with an unorthodox way of appealing for new evidence: setting up their own pirate radio station…

But someone’s trying to warn them off. First they receive a letter telling them to ‘stop looking’, then Andy’s mum – a police officer – is suspended from the force. Unafraid, they keep broadcasting – only to uncover sinister surprises and dangerous secrets.

Can they find out the truth about PC Johnson’s death, before they’re shut down for good?

First broadcast in 1993, this engaging crime drama was written by Dave Simpson and Diane Whitley. Among the star cast are Jane Dawson (Coronation Street), Sue Jenkins (Brookside), Maureen Beattie (Deadwater Fell) and Michelle Holmes (Rita, Sue and Bob Too).


Gemma – Jane Dawson

Liam – Colin Parry

Andy – Jonathan Perkins

Dad/Malcolm – Jimmy Hibbert

Keith Brandon – Vincent Davies

Mrs Brandon – Sue Jenkins

PC Gibson/Simon – Jason Done

PC Johnson – Chris Brailsford

Detective Inspector Mädchen – Seamus O’Neill

Jennifer Walsh – Maureen Beattie

Judge – Geoffrey Banks

Ted – Russell Dixon

Jeff Carter/Sphinx – Peter Rylands

Susan – Michelle Holmes

Himself – Julian Warwicker

Written by Dave Simpson & Diane Whitley

Produced by Martin Jameson

First broadcast BBC Radio 5, 12-27 April 1993


AudioBooksBee.Com™ | Best Site To Download AudioBooks
Register New Account
Shopping cart